Katy Perry 2012 Grammy Awards

Katy wore an ethereal baby blue Ellie Saab Couture gown that called for a classic polished look with a strong eye and dramatic lashes. Katy and I were inspired by this Allure cover of Isabella Rossellini with make up by Kevyn Aucoin.

I recently acquired a bucketload of YSL make up and couldn’t wait to use it so this look is full on Yves Saint Laurent.

I was seduced by the decadent packaging. This is the stuff you leave out (preferably on some sort of gold mirrored tray for full effect).

Since I forgot my gold mirrored tray I used a black towel instead…

I started by applying a sheer liquid foundation for dewy coverage to complement Katy’s tan. I buffed it on  her skin using a flat tipped kabuki brush and absorbed any excess foundation using a large make up sponge.

To get the strong black doe eye I used Eyeliner Effet Faux Cils in deep black from YSL.  This is the truest black on the market and it is 100 percent smudge proof which is key for long nights and performances.

                                    To add shimmer and dimension I used 2 colors from the Pure Chromatics Pallete from YSL.  I layered a deep charcoal shimmer over the liner to soften the edges and pale pink shimmer to highlight her browbone.

For long thick lashes I applied the equally intense Volume Effet Faux Cils Mascara from YSL over a set of lashes from Katy’s  amazing new lash line for Eylure.

The set I used is called “Oh My”.

                                                                                   I used YSL’s Creme de Blush  in “Velvety Peach” on the apples of her cheeks to add a bright coral glow.

I accentuated  her cheekbones and warmed her overall complexion with a dusting of “Terre Saharienne” Bronzing Powder from YSL.

I finished the look with a cool pink retro shade that complemented the pastel theme of the look……# 26 from YSL’s Rouge Pur Couture lipstick.

We adapted the look for her performance by adding a super dramatic pair of feathered lashes and a metallic pink foil lip from Glitzy Lips.  The color I used is called Pink Couture.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Katy Perry 2012 Grammy Awards

  1. Makeup Artistry by Kim Neely Scheppegrell says:

    Absolutely stunning!!!

Leave a Reply

